EFIS/EJI Ita Askonas Award


The prize was established by EFIS and the European Journal of Immunology (EJI) to acknowledge female group leaders in immunology who have run an independent laboratory for a minimum of four and no more than eight years.


This prize consists of a €20,000 cash award, plus support for travel, accommodations and registration to attend the European Congress of Immunology (ECI). The laureate must be prepared to present her work at the ECI.


The EFIS-EJI Ita Askonas Prize was first awarded at the ECI 2009 in Berlin. The three Prize laureates since then are


  • 2009 - Prof. Fiona Powrie - Oxford, UK

  • 2012 - Dr. Francesca Granucci - Milan, Italy

  • 2015 - Dr. Karin Tarte - Rennes, France


Award Outline


Eligibility: This award competition is open to female members of an EFIS-affilated National Society working in a European research institution. Candidates must have an outstanding track record of achievement in immunology. The EFIS Board will appoint an evaluation committee, which will review the nomination packages and decide upon the recipient of the Prize.

Nomination: Nominations must be submitted by an EFIS member society. EFIS Board Members are not eligible to nominate or recommend candidates; EFIS Board Members cannot be nominated. Please submit the nomination package by e-mail to the EFIS Secretary General and to the EFIS coordinator.


A complete nomination package must be received by May 15th, 2018.


Nomination instructions: Please submit the following in the nomination package:

  1. A nomination letter of not more than three pages submitted and signed by the president of the member society indicating the nominee’s qualifications for the award. The letter should describe the nominee’s contributions to research;
  2. The nominee’s curriculum vitae;
  3. A list of publications with title and complete citations, and evaluated according to the citation report of the ISI Web of Science (number of citations, h-factor).
  4. A list of the ten most important publications.