EFIS-IL Lecture Award

EFIS Member Societies are encouraged to apply for the prestigious EFIS-IL Lecture Award, to invite an outstanding European immunologist to speak at their national meeting.

The EFIS-IL Lecture Award entitles the proponent National Society to receive 1000 Euros to offset the Lecturer's travel and participation expenses. In addition, the EFIS-IL Lecture Award Laureate receives a commemorative plaque depicting Paul Ehrlich and Elie Metchnikoff (below) and - on the condition that she/he authors a manuscript/review on her/his talk for publication in Immunology Letters - may receive an honorarium of 700 Euros. This manuscript should be submitted directly to the Editor-in-Chief of Immunology Letters within three months after the lecture.


Approval of the EFIS Board should be obtained before the prospective lecturer is invited. Applications should include a cover letter and the proposed laureate's CV and ten most important publications.


Please submit the application via e-mail to the email hidden; JavaScript is required and the email hidden; JavaScript is required, at least three months ahead of the meeting. Up to 10 lectures will be supported per year. This award may not be offered more than once to the same person.


Next deadline to submit your proposal: No applications will be accepted in 2024.




EFIS-IL Lecture Award Laureates and Host Societies

Rita Carsetti, Austrian Society
Bernard Malissen
, German Society
Dirk Busch
, French Society
Burkhard Becher
, Croatian Society
Caetano Reis e Sousa
, Portuguese Society
Florent Ginhoux, Italian Society
Viktor Umansky, Turkish Society

Maria Grazia Roncarolo, Italian Society
Clare M. Lloyd, Irish Society
Oscar Palomares, Austrian Society
Emma Slack, German Society
Klaas van Gisbergen, Croatian Society


Luigi Notarangelo, Italian Society
Henrique Veiga-Fernandes
, Croatian Society
David C. Wraith, Scandinavian Society

Véronique Frémeaux-Bacchi, Hungarian Society
Teunis B.H. Geijtenbeek
, Croatian Society
Menna R. Clatworthy
, Scandinavian Society
Ignacio Melero, Portuguese Society

Francisco Sánchez-Madrid, Hungarian Society


Dan Eric Hultmark, Hungarian Society

James Di Santo, Italian Society

Maximiliano Gutierrez, Portuguese Society



Guido Kroemer, Austrian Society

Lucy Walker, German Society

Claudia Berek, Hungarian Society



Stefan H.E. Kaufmann, Italian Society

Anna Blom, Hungarian Society



Marcel van den Brink, Dutch Society

Fritz Melchers, Hungarian Society

Peter Openshaw, Irish Society

Luke O'Neill, German Society

Hergen Spits, Italian Society



Thomas Schwarz, Hungarian Society

Marco Colonna, Italian Society

Klaus Rajewski, German Society



Adrian Hayday, Scandinavian and Estonian Societies



Irun Cohen, Irish Society

Roland Johnsson, Turkish Society



Peter Zipfel, Hungarian Society

Ulrich Wahn, Czech Society



Reinhold E. Schmidt, Hungarian Society

Cornelius Melief, German Society



Andreas Radbruch, Scandinavian Society

Erik Holmdahl, German Society

Steffen Gay, Hungarian Society

Alain Fischer, Italian Society



Eric Vivier, German Society

Alexander Enk, Hungarian Society

Sebastian Amigorena, German Society

Eddy Liew, Italian Society

Michael Reth, French Society



Michael Goldman, French Society

Lorenzo Moretta, Polish Society

Giorgio Trinchieri, Italian Society

Mohamed Daha, Hungarian Society

Frederica Sallusto, German Society

Marie-Christine Bene, Bulgarian Society



Brigitta Heyman, German Society

Jurg Tschopp, French Society



Guido Forni, German Society